What's your review on anxiety meds?

21 Answers
Last Updated: 06/18/2018 at 7:23am
1 Tip to Feel Better
Canada
Moderated by

Sara Radford, MA Clinical Counseling

Clinical Social Work/Therapist

Within the context of a supportive, collaborative relationship I help clients to explore themselves in a effort to create healing and lasting positive change.

Top Rated Answers
Anonymous
January 25th, 2015 7:50am
Broadly speaking, there are three main classes of drugs used to treat anxiety, benzodiazapines, anti-depressants, and buspar. Of these, buspar is generally noted for being the safest and having the fewest side-effects, but also being the least effective. Benzodiazapines can be highly addictive, and can cause memory problems with long term use. Different types of anti-depressants have their own side effects. These are all worth talking to your doctor in detail about BEFORE you get a prescription. Make sure your doctor thoroughly explains the risks and drawbacks as well as the benefits of these medications to you.
positiveWhisper24
April 12th, 2015 9:38pm
When it comes to meds, they can be very helpful or extremely unhelpful. It is so important to get professional advice about meds, because there are a million different kinds and different people match with different drugs. There are also side effects to take into consideration, and sometimes you have to try more than one to find what's right for you. Always work alongside a professional (psychiatrist or doctor). And most importantly, NEVER just go off your meds without consulting a professional - this can land you in the emergency room! At the end of the day, though, meds can really help you. They can give you the push you need to start feeling better, and to know that there is hope.
Anonymous
January 29th, 2015 12:00pm
I think if they are required, it is definitely worth trying them. Individuals react differently to different medication so it is important to work closely with the doctor to find a medication that works. I also think that the medication should be used alongside therapy, so that the root of the problem is being dealt with.
CoffeeTeaAndHonesty
April 2nd, 2015 6:32am
I believe there is no shame in having to take anxiety medication. The only reason it is looked down upon is due to the horrible stigmas that go along with having to take them. We need to end the stigmas!
Alwaysdreamin
April 15th, 2015 11:08pm
We do not discuss medications on this site. Many people take them and many do not. Everyone reacts differently to medications so we have a rule to not discuss this. There are other websites that can help you with this question though. Try Psychcentral and others you may find.
Anonymous
April 29th, 2015 11:10pm
They really really help. I remember skipping them a few times and there were huge differences! But anxiety meds, just like all meds should be prescribed with all factors coincided (body mass,etc)
Anonymous
May 8th, 2015 3:09pm
I have been on multiple anxiety medication. What they do when you take them during a panic attack is make you drowsy. After that, though, you end up feeling oddly numb, like antidepressants do. Most anxiety medication are also forms of antidepressants anyway (eg. Xanax, Lorazapem).
Mikayla1000
June 11th, 2015 3:12am
Anxiety meds can take a lot of time to get the right med. Personally they do help me a lot in functioning day-to-day life! It took me a lot of meds though, so if you do decide try meds be patient if it takes time, also take it as prescribed! Good Luck
silverSound86
July 20th, 2015 1:50am
Anxiety meds are necessary in acute cases of anxiety and when prescribed by a trained therapist. It helps manage anxiety levels. However on the flip side, the danger is that nedication over a period of time can be addictive. While it is a good idea to use medication till the anxiety is contained, it may be a good idea for the person suffering from anxiety to simultaneously explore other holistic approaches which may contribute to reduced anxiety. They can include simple things like jogging, tomore detailed exercise plans, focusing on a hobby or interest, creating support groups of caring people in their lives, finding key things that work for them when they are anxious, relaxation techniques, Yoga, Reiki,exploring alternative healing therapies like Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT), Ayurveda, Meditation among other things. Different things work differently for different people. The person suffering from anxiety must chose what works for him, irrespective what Wikipedia says on the subject. Anxiety needn't be a hydra-headed monster that eats away at one's life. Western thinking may not always be the only solution to anxiety. If one opens one's mind and looks at the solutions the East has to offer. A healthy balance between the East and the West can pay rich dividends. This I say, on the basis of personal observation in very many people in my life and I firmly believe this to be true.
Anonymous
August 18th, 2015 5:47am
I take anxiety medication and I'd recommend a low dosage to anyone who things they need it. It help a lot.
JillieJillie
November 16th, 2015 8:04am
You know your body. you know whether or not they work best for you. I'm a natural person myself and would rather let my own body work things out, that way, next time I need help - I come to the rescue, not antibiotics.
DancingAlong
December 7th, 2015 6:08pm
Anxiety medication can be very helpful for some people, but not for others. It depends on a lot of factors: the medication, the dosage, the person taking it, the level of their need for help, if they're seeing a counselor to help in other ways. In general I would say that having an open conversation with your doctor about anxiety medication is the best way to go.
Flinch59
December 22nd, 2015 8:55pm
While they certainly can help in some situations, they are ultimately a crutch, and potentially addictive. Talk to a mental health care professional about the pros and cons of a decision to take meds.
dalya123
December 28th, 2015 5:22pm
I don't have any reviews since I never experienced anxiety before so I think another experienced listener can help you
Anonymous
December 29th, 2015 7:32am
They could be both good and bad. It depends on the person though weather or not they might work or not.
gentleDreamer72
December 29th, 2015 3:37pm
I found some to be helpful and others not to be. For me, the most helpful anxiety meds are long-term ones that build up in the blood-stream as a result of taking them every day. A lot of times these are also anti-depressants--for example, Zoloft, Lexipro, etc. I found that benzodiapenes--short-acting meds that are only taken as needed--were significantly less helpful. They would help for an hour or so, but then I would just feel tired. I started building up a tolerance to benzodiapenes very quickly, which eventually led me to take a dangerously high dose. I do not recommend benzodiapenes.
OptimismIsKey9090
January 4th, 2016 3:18am
They do 50% you have to put the remaining hard work in yourself. It's all worth it in the end. Surviour
Dawn04
October 4th, 2016 1:16am
That really depends on the person. I take an anxiety medication since I know I need it to stay calm. Others may be able to deal with their anxiety through relaxation techniques and support and not need them.
Anonymous
February 27th, 2018 7:51am
It's always important to try and focus on yourself and self growth before seeking medical help I personally think. If you have tried everything you feel you can do within your power to help your anxiety then of course medication could be the next option. I don't think it is the best though.
lovelypumpkin
April 16th, 2018 10:11pm
I personally believe that anxiety medications can be helpful in some cases, but can also be harmful sometimes. I am not the biggest fan of them when it comes to ones that change your personality, but that is just simply my opinion.
ChoiTaeyang
June 18th, 2018 7:23am
They are helpful to an extent, but should only be used if absolutely necessary. How they will affect each person is different and you should be aware as to how they effect/effected you.