Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

How do I tell my parents I do not agree with their opinion?

21 Answers
Last Updated: 07/09/2019 at 6:59am
1 Tip to Feel Better
United States
Moderated by

Lauren Abasheva, LMHC

Licensed Professional Counselor

A sex positive, and kink knowledgeable therapist with an open mindset and a clear understanding that we are all different.

Top Rated Answers
Anonymous
June 12th, 2015 6:13am
Personally I thing this would depend a great deal on two factors, one being the relationship you have with your parents, and two how you yourself feel about sharing with them when you do not agree with their opinion. You know yourself and the relationship you have with your parents better than anyone else. Also you might want to be mindful of how strongly you do or do not agree with their opinions, as to be mindful to be selective on "choosing your battles" when you do not agree with their opinions...this is my personal perspective, of course.
dkotabarrios
April 4th, 2015 7:01pm
Simply tell them. However, do it in a respectful way. They are your parents and you should respect their opinion just as much as they should respect yours.
Nova315
May 2nd, 2016 1:31am
Straight up tell them that you don't agree with them. You're going to end up telling them you disagree so might as well go all in and tell them straight up that you disagree.
Anonymous
July 9th, 2019 6:59am
Calmly. Talk to them without screaming and those stuffs and tell them honestly what you think about something .Tell them how you feel.
Anonymous
March 21st, 2015 9:33pm
Respectfully! If you approach your parents with respect when disagreeing with them, they will return the favor and show you respect in their responses.
sofialucas
April 9th, 2015 6:04pm
Try to say, in a non respectfulness way, that you don't agree with their opinion, explain your own opinion and why do you think that's correct.
optimisticPond54
May 9th, 2015 8:01pm
Every man or woman is different, and it is totally fine if you dont agree with them. Just tell them gently how you feel, and they would have to listen to you.
Anonymous
June 10th, 2015 7:30pm
The disagreement between the parents and kids is healthy if they can reach a consensus. The parents usually accept a different opinion with a good conversation. Just avoid turning a discussion into an argument..
Tantry
August 10th, 2015 11:07pm
First of all, improve your general knowledge. Then begin by saying-Sorry! i beg to differ and then put forward your thoughts.
Anonymous
August 11th, 2015 9:32am
If you're not comfortable with an opinion or a decision of your parents, try to pick a quiet moment when they're not stressed and ask them to sit down and have a chat with you. Explain to them - in a calm and rational manner - why you disagree with their opinion or their actions. Maybe you've already come up with a different solution/opinion on your own - explain it to them and even if they don't agree with you, it can still be the start of a good conversation that leads to a better understanding on both sides.
Anonymous
December 28th, 2015 3:38am
I make sure that my dad knows that I understand his opinion and where he is coming from. That way nothing can be blamed on ignorance. Then I tell him what I think, why I think this, and back up why I and do this. Then my father and I bat ideas back and forth in a calm matter. Staying calm is key.
SpiceWithATouchOfNice
January 25th, 2016 5:14pm
Be polite but firm in your decision. Kindly voice your opinion to them without overpowering theirs.
carefreeNarwhal88
July 11th, 2016 6:39am
You tell them you don't agree and explain why they'll understand it's not easy but you can do it.
Anonymous
July 12th, 2016 11:13am
Try and say it in a respectful way. Maybe starting off with "not to come off as rude..." Or something in the nature. They're your parents and will love you. Opinions are different with different people.
PrincessCeleste87
August 2nd, 2016 6:27am
Tell them that you respect their opinion, but you have different viewpoints on the matter. Assert to them that you are entitled to your own opinion.
DGClaw
September 14th, 2016 12:04am
When we speak in a way that is peaceful and composed in the face of adversity, we raise ourselves above that adversity and, more often than people might expect, inspire others to do the same. Not only that, but by continuing to have our words come from a peaceful place, even in the face of others' anger or refusal to agree with us, we allow ourselves to be truly helpful to others and, as such, truly loving. By moving away from peacefulness, by choosing to communicate by shouting or insulting to get our points across, we move away from our ability to be truly loving, and are more likely to inspire a perpetuation of conflict and hurtfulness. Specifically, when we are called to communicate to someone that we don't agree with them, I've found that reminding them that their right to make their own choices in life is fully acknowledged and appreciated is always a helpful and compassionate thing to include at the start of the message, because chances are that the listener feels personally insulted by the speaker's disagreement. Now, the listener is encouraged to see the speaker's disagreement not as something to be feared or taken personally, but as a natural occurrence of life, as well as an opportunity for both people to become better educated on what is true about one another, which is always beneficial to one's life. Again, if one can not only accomplish all of that, but do so in a calm and loving way, even against the adversities of anger and resentment, then one has the potential to be truly inspiring to others, as they will become an example of wisdom, love, and the strength of will for all to live by.
BenevolentWriting23
November 14th, 2016 8:05am
The best way is to tell them honestly. I have always doubted my parents, I doubt that they care, I doubt that they love me at all, but as I grow I started realizing that yes, they do care and they do love me. Every parents want the best for their children, and I think it's perfectly okay not to agree with your parents' opinions sometimes. Rather than trying to cope with theirs, you should just tell them honestly. (in a polite way, of course)
KarlyCassidy
November 21st, 2016 3:50am
You can just politely say: I disagree. Of course, that is just me and you may have a different opinion from me, yet I stand my ground. Allowing others to have their own opinion, but allowing yourself to have your own is always a good idea!
Anonymous
July 4th, 2017 10:58am
As I am speaking from my own experience, it is not easy to discuss with parents...strict ones especially. However, do try your best to explain your standpoint and explain where you are coming from and what it will mean to you if things go according to your plan.
Anonymous
September 26th, 2017 12:32am
It is normal to disagree other's opinions, but there is a proper way to go about doing so. For small, unimportant matters, it is best to not sweat it too much, however, if it is a bigger deal it is important to voice your concern. When doing so, ensure you are simply informing your parents of your concern with their belief. Be elaborative and respectful as you do not want to embarrass them, but you need to be informative enough so they may understand your reasoning without taking it as a personal attack.
AnnieQuill
January 15th, 2018 8:05pm
reflect back their opinion and than state where your opinion differs from theirs. NEVER do this when angry, but during a calm moment when both party's are willing to talk