medlgbtoutandproud |
Listener - Beginner 9

Listener Rating     
Following
Followers

Hi. I'm glad that I can be part of this community. I am a graduated doctor and currently doing my Masters in Reproductive Medicine. I was diagnosed with anxiety and depression for 3 years now and counting. I am still seeing a psychiatrist every 2 months just to have someone to talk to as preparing for the AMC board exam can be stressful while trying to cope with my Masters syllabus. I had always hoped that someone would understand my condition and not just blame it on others or my inability to stand up for myself. I had very low self esteem at one point of my life while doing my degree as I felt I was stupid as compared to my classmates. I am glad I had friends and a support system back then to keep me sane as I was thousands of miles away from home and my family.

I am from a broken family and I had been moving around for a while before settling here in Australia with my partner. I know how it feels coming from a broken family and the stress of being stuck in between two families and the stigma of divorce especially among the Asians. I had friends who took separation in a very negative way and I had friends who took it as a challenge to do better and be a better person. I chose to be the latter too. I hope to help teenagers who are having a hard time with this and try to lend my support in order to keep them in the right path. 

For your information, I had been away since I was 13, staying in a boarding school then going to college then university and now finally migrated to overseas. I was never really home for a long time. Therefore, I did experience some bullying back then. I was also forced to excel back in school and I totally understand the stress of having to pass the exams at one attempt or having to be the top in your class. 

While I was in medical school, I did took up a course with the Australia Psychological Society in APS certificate in sleep psychology which I completed a year ago. Although I am not a sleep specialist but with this course and my medical degree, I might be able to give some opinion regarding sleep problems. My partner is also suffering from sleep disorders and I had been helping her to get it diagnosed recently. I will not be prescribing medicine but I can try to give guidelines on proper sleep hygience and what may be affecting your sleep. I know sleep is important and it is horrible not being able to get a good quality sleep.

On the other hand, I am a lesbian and I had experiece having difficultiies coming out to my family and friends. I had been through discrimination by some of my family members while others accepted me for who I am. It had put me in a very bad situation and I feel into severe depression and I thought I was sick or abnormal till I went for therapy and I read more about LGBT. So, I went through the denial phase, depression then self-acceptance and finally coming out. Thus, one of my aim here is to help the LGBTQ+ community in respect to self acceptance and coping with the discrimnation. 

It may seem like I had been through a lot but these are the stuffs that I think gave me an advantage as a listener as I might be able to understand some of you easier as I had been through those phases that you might be working on now. 

I do try to reply as soon as I got your message but sometimes I might be stuck in one chat and I prefer not to do multiple chats at once. I can recommed another listener is one is available when the situation pops up. However, please bear in mind I am also studying for my board exams and Masters at the same time therefore my time here can be limited. I may spend 1 hour a day here during the weekdays at night for the time being but I might not be available during the weekends as I would like to spend time with my partner. If you do not mind a slow reply, you can always drop me a message and I will reply when I am free which usually do not take more than 48 hours. 

I am looking forward to lend my ears to people who needs someone to listen to them. I prefer to help teenagers and young adults as I am a young adult myself with no kids. So I can't help much if the problem is regarding your children or marriage as I have no experience in those areas and I am not qualified. Do bear in mind I am a fresh graduate doctor and not a therapist or psychologist. So please do not take the chat session with me as a therapy session as I am only here as an active listener and I am not qualified to offer any therapy sessions. I can't prescribe medicines or suggest any as it is against medical ethics and the law. But I can suggest other ways of dealing with them based on what I learnt.

Lastly, I can't promise that my help would be the best or even good and I do not mind if you go for a second opinion or I might even refer you to a senior listener myself. I am still young myself and learning the art of life. Looking forward to meeting others here and feel free to chat with me if you just need someone to talk to.

Number of Ratings: 3
Number of Reviews: 1
Listens to Over 18
Languages English
Listener Since May 24, 2018
Last Active over 6 months ago
Gender Female
Progress Path Step 13
Cheers 3,282
People Helped 11
Chats 43
Group Support Chats 5
Listener Group Chats 1
Forum Posts 11
Forum Upvotes 14