How can I make others respect my opinion?

25 Answers
Last Updated: 02/06/2018 at 5:49pm
1 Tip to Feel Better
United States
Moderated by

Lisa Page, Licensed Mental Health Counselor

Licensed Professional Counselor

I am a compassionate, solution-focused therapist, with over 17 years experience in the field of Mental Health counseling. I provide nonjudgmental support and education.

Top Rated Answers
heavenDay24
August 10th, 2015 12:34am
You yourself should learn to respect your own opinion first... believe in it... be firm with it.. and stand by it no matter what others say or think about it..
MyGlassIsHalfFull
July 20th, 2015 12:50am
By firstly respecting their opinion and wording your opinion in a manner that's not aggressive. Be patient with the other person when they are talking and they will do the same to you.
Dost
December 4th, 2014 5:49am
You can make others respect your opinion by presenting it in a calm, thoughtful, and non-confrontational way. Also by respecting other person's/peoples opinion/s.
Anonymous
November 21st, 2014 4:10pm
By respecting the opinions of others, and even though most of the times we do respect the opinions of others yet they don't respect ours, it would be okay to be assertive at times, and still treat them with respect even if they're not treating our opinion with the respect that they deserve. Over time, they'd realise what they're doing isn't right.
Uniqueg
December 29th, 2014 5:32am
Be firm and clear on what your saying, but do it in a respectful way, so the other people can feel mutual respect
dalya123
December 28th, 2015 12:21pm
You can't make them do what you want them to do but if you want them to respect your opinion, then you have to pick a smart opinion
Anonymous
November 21st, 2014 2:50pm
You have to have a confident stand and speak clearly. It helps other respect you more. Another good thing is to have statements to back up your opinion :)
CharmingSoul7
November 22nd, 2014 9:15am
Stand firm in what you believe and give examples as to why you feel that way but do not try to force your opinion on others.
SoftlyXSpoken
November 22nd, 2014 8:06pm
Well there are many different ways to get people to respect you opinion, what I do is make sure I am well informed on the topic of discussion and then form an opinion so if any tries to argue it I can defend it soon people will start accepting you opinion and who you are as a person.
chamomilecompanion
November 23rd, 2014 6:23pm
Be confident in yourself and explain your reasoning clearly and precisely. Don't get worked up or emotional.
dotty
December 24th, 2014 5:59pm
bringing arguments to fundament one's opinion is the best solution. like, quoting previous situations where similar ideas worked. self-confidence also helps.
Anonymous
April 29th, 2015 11:19pm
Stand firm in what you believe. Not only will others begin to respect your opinion, they will begin to respect you as a person.
AloneAcneLove
May 22nd, 2015 8:21pm
Do not use harsh words. Respect is to use a tone and words that doesn't harm anybody. Example: "I like this game! It has my favourite voice actor". "I dont like that voice actor, i think the role doesn't suit him." Use this kind of words instead of "I dont like that voice actor. HE IS SHIT!"
Anonymous
July 6th, 2015 5:51pm
If you assert yourself in a way that backs up what you believe in, there is less for people to question and rebut against, especially if you have solid reasoning for your argument.
Brittneym101
July 14th, 2015 12:02pm
Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. With that being said you may not be able to make others respect your opinion. You don't have to like their opinion, but the only thing that you can do is respect that they have an opinion no matter what it may be. You can persuade people to have the same opinion as you do, but other than that there really isn't to much that you can do.
ChasingInsomnia
July 20th, 2015 7:05pm
It's never easy to make another person do anything, and thus I really haven't had success making people respect my opinions. However, what I find works best for me is making sure that I respect myself. That might sound weird, but if you aren't respecting yourself, it's really hard to have the courage to make your opinions known, or to handle people rejecting your opinions. Also, remember that some people, unfortunately, are just jerks. If you respect you, that's all that really matters.
Molentra
August 24th, 2015 7:29am
Argue it well, and have good points to back it up. When you speak, make sure you are logical and calm. Stand up for what you believe in, but don't be rude or derogatory of other's opinions.
TrainerVanna
December 21st, 2015 3:07am
Not being overly aggressive and really connecting the experience with others. If you are really able to connect or even get the experience out there it just shows that you have your opinion.
Anonymous
December 22nd, 2015 7:14am
With patience explain to them some people may have a difference of opinion. Whatever the subject matter is, the goal you want is for people to respect your views not to accept your views as the truth. It is important to note that not everyone will respect your opinions no matter how hard you try.
Risenoutofash
February 23rd, 2016 2:56pm
to also be respectfull to there opinions if you respect theres than they will also respect yours be true also and talk calmy when you spread youre opinion its youre tone of youre voice that mathers too:)
littlebearfi
October 24th, 2016 1:31am
Make it stand strong show that you believe and want to back it up. If you respect theirs that could also be one step to make them respect yours.
HelpWisely
December 6th, 2016 2:07pm
There is no need to make others respect your opinions. All you can do is to express your opinions and if anyone finds it valuable and worth respecting then they will do it on their own free will.
Anonymous
November 28th, 2017 5:10pm
you speak your mind and hope for the best . you cant make people respect you , its not something you demand but rather earn . your not losing anything they are
Anonymous
January 29th, 2018 5:27pm
It's quite a challenge to express yourself based on people's subjective bias towards your belief, however, there are people out there who are still willing to listen despite of your views or opinion. For me, I'd do these, try it out if you'd like: 1)Choosing the right people/audience: To express yourself, you should observe the people or audience perspective.(example: Noticing their attitudes towards you when you speak or towards others. Are they the ones compatible for your expressions?) 2)Respecting them first - Yes, we may have come to this point. Most people will give back the favor of listening to you if you respect them first in regards to their opinion. Possibly, the person may even listen in return and perhaps give you a positive feedback. These are the only things I can provide for now. :( I hope it helps.
Maxinchen
February 6th, 2018 5:49pm
Only if you respect your opinion to 100% you can make other people respect it. You need to be confident in your opinion and yourself.